ROTH, JOSEPH

ROTH, JOSEPH (1894–1939), Austrian novelist. Born near Brody in East Galicia, Roth volunteered for service in the Austrian army during World War I. He became an officer and was captured by the Russians. His subsequent career was in journalism and for a decade from 1923 he worked for the Frankfurter Zeitung. He fought for a new humanism and was a strenuous opponent of German militarism. Roth left his adopted country when Hitler came to power in 1933. Much of his restless life was spent abroad and he finally sought refuge in   Paris where in a fit of depression he tried to commit suicide and died in a hospital for the poor. Apart from many newspaper articles and short stories, Roth wrote 14 novels, notable for their lucid style. At first a psychological realist in the tradition of Stendhal and Dostoevsky, Roth was later influenced by the Viennese impressionists such as H. von Hofmannsthal and A. Schnitzler . Always affected by the sufferings of others, Roth projected reco llections of his own unhappy and impoverished youth into his best-known novel, Hiob (1930; Job, 1931), which describes the bitter life of an East European Jewish family. Other novels, such as Die Flucht ohne Ende (1927) and Rechts und Links (1929), depict the social consequences of war and the decomposition of the old order through revolution and inflation. His last novel, Die Legende vom heiligen Trinker (1939), is a kind of self-portrait and reflects some of the author's own disappointments. The essays of Juden auf Wanderschaft (1927) deal with the social position of East European Jewry. A different atmosphere prevails in Roth's historical novels. The best known of these, Radetzkymarsch (1932), nostalgically portrays Austria and the imperial army under Franz Joseph. Three other novels were Die hundert Tage (1936), Die Geschichte von der 1002. Nacht (1939), and Der Leviathan (1940). Years after his death, Der stumme Prophet, a work full of forebodings about totalitarianism, appeared in 1966. Roth's collected works were published with an introduction by hermann kesten (3 vols., 1956). Roth gained belated recognition as one of Austria's outstanding novelists. -BIBLIOGRAPHY: H. Linden, Joseph Roth, Leben und Werk (1949); H. Kesten, Meine Freunde die Poeten (1953), 167–99; A. Werner, in: Jewish Outlook (Feb. 1942), 7–9; Kinn, in: Tribune, 5 (1966), 2063–66; H. Kesten (ed.), Joseph Roth: Briefe 1911–1939 (1970). (Rudolf Kayser)

Encyclopedia Judaica. 1971.

Look at other dictionaries:

  • Roth, Joseph — (1894 1939)    writer; his work reflects a torment and nos talgia induced by World War I and the collapse of the Habsburg monarchy. Born to a Jewish home in Brody (a Galician village now in Poland*), he was raised with his maternal grandfather… …   Historical dictionary of Weimar Republik

  • Roth, Joseph — ▪ Austrian writer born Sept. 2, 1894, Brody, Galicia, Austria Hungary [now in Ukraine] died May 27, 1939, Paris, France       journalist and regional novelist who, particularly in his later novels, mourned the passing of an age of stability he… …   Universalium

  • Roth, Joseph — (1894–1939)    Writing under his own name as well as under pseudonyms such as Hamilkar or Christine v. Kandl, Roth was born a Jew in the Bukovina, one of the easternmost reaches of the Habsburg Empire. He studied Germanic philology and philosophy …   Historical dictionary of Austria

  • Roth, Joseph — (1894 1939)    Austrian novelist. He was born near Brody in eastern Galicia. He worked from 1923 for the Frankfurter Zeitung. Later he lived in Paris. His novel Job describes Eastern European Jewish life, and in Juden auf Wanderschaft he deals… …   Dictionary of Jewish Biography

  • Joseph Roth — (1918) Moses Joseph Roth (* 2. September 1894 in Brody, Österreich Ungarn; † 27. Mai 1939 in Paris) war ein österreichischer Schriftsteller und Journalist …   Deutsch Wikipedia

  • Joseph Roth (Politiker) — Joseph Roth 1930 Joseph Roth (* 30. Januar 1896 in Köln; † 22. Januar 1945 in Friesdorf) war ein deutscher Politiker der Deutschen Zentrumspartei. Er war Vorsitzender des Zentrums in Bad Godesberg, Kreistagsmitglied des Kreises Bonn und …   Deutsch Wikipedia

  • ROTH (J.) — ROTH JOSEPH (1894 1939) Même s’il est marginal à tous égards, ou peut être à cause de cela même, Joseph Roth (né à Brody, mort à Paris) est certainement l’un des plus grands prosateurs autrichiens de la première moitié du XXe siècle. Marginal, il …   Encyclopédie Universelle

  • Joseph Nasi — (christlicher Taufname: João Miquez; * 1524 in Portugal; † 2. August 1579 in Istanbul[1]) war ein jüdischer Diplomat, Bankier und Finanzexperte am Hof der osmanischen Sultane Süleyman I. und Selim II. In seinem bewegten Leben führte er… …   Deutsch Wikipedia

  • Roth — Saltar a navegación, búsqueda Contenido 1 Lugares 2 Personas 2.1 A 2.2 C 2.3 D …   Wikipedia Español

  • Joseph Pascher — (* 26. September 1893 in Härtlingen; † 5. Juli 1979 in Wiesbaden) war ein deutscher römisch katholischer Liturgiewissenschaftler, Professor an der Ludwig Maximilians Universität München, Direktor des Georgianums und Konzilstheologe.… …   Deutsch Wikipedia

Share the article and excerpts

Direct link
Do a right-click on the link above
and select “Copy Link”

We are using cookies for the best presentation of our site. Continuing to use this site, you agree with this.